Ten years…

by juanp1968

…ago I was walking in down a street in Sweden towards a tattoo shop that I was visiting and as I got nearer there was strange energy of people milling about the two storefronts. When I got close enough one of my friends exclaimed ” The US is under attack”. Those words were never spoken in my lifetime until then. I went down stairs to the apartment that was in the shop and there was a few people watching the news and only one tower was hit at the time but the news was describing that a plane had hit the pentagon and that the US had shot down another one in PA. As the television was trying to gather more info then other plane hit.
When this happened the first thing I thought about was my family. I called to check in and found everyone was ok. The second thing that came to mind was how our world was about to radically change. I flew on september 12 from Sweden to Barcelona. Europe seemed unaffected as it was used to terrorist violence unlike the US. When I returned from this trip, I was wondering how it was going to be coming back into the US through customs but oddly enough, it was going to be the first of almost 10 years of traveling, that I never even got a second glance or inspection.
As the second plane hit, I never felt farther away from home in my life. A lot has happened in 10 years from conspiracy theories to a black president, but hopefully we or our children will never have to live through something like this again…

